About the Bicentennial Project
Created by the Wood County Commissioners, the Wood County Bicentennial Committee exists to promote the 200th anniversary of the founding of Wood County throughout 2020 and to preserve pictures, memorabilia, and documents concerning the history of Wood County.
The committee will also bring attention to the 125th anniversary of the Wood County Courthouse in 2021. The courthouse opened on September 29, 1896 and has been in use continuously since that time. The courthouse remains a stalwart symbol of our county and its unique history, which stretches back to 1813 when General William Henry Harrison ordered the building of Fort Meigs.
Built under the direction of then Captain Eleazer D. Wood, the fort was the sight of major battles in May and July of 1813 involving British forces and Native Americans under the leadership of the famous Shawnee Chief Tecumseh.
At the time of the building of Fort Meigs, Wood was a captain. He was promoted several times during the War of 1812 and ultimately ended his career as a Lieutenant Colonel when he was killed at the battle of Fort Erie on September 17, 1814. When Wood County was founded, those early settlers thought it was appropriate to honor Wood by naming our county after him.
Since 1820, Wood County has been part of the fabric of Ohio and United States history, having significant influences on both. The committee wants to celebrate that involvement and calls upon all citizens to participate by submitting memories, photos, or volunteering at events to help everyone in Wood County understand our county’s history and recognize its contribution to our shared story.